E-readers versus books

Hi I'm a newbie to these discussions.

I have a foot in both camps and love reading, I also write e books as the traditional book market is incredibly difficult to break into, ironically because of e readers. NO i's not a free plug I'll try and throw a little light on it for any reader who is not familiar with e books..

I'm not sure if any of you know but you can actually download a free Kindle reader to your laptop to read e books. Fine for reading at home and any book with photo's is obviously a better reading experience. Kindle has 60% of the e book market and is expanding quickly to the English speaking world. Some of the other systems like Kobo or Nook won't accept English authors. All the authors have to pay 30% income tax on book earnings to America where Amazon, Nook etc are based. There are agents of course who will market your e book but by the time you have given them their percentage and paid tax on a low priced book there's little left for the author.

If you are an Amazon 'premium' customer you can read any chosen book per month free from their Kindle lending library.

I hope this explanation is helpful.

I think e-readers and books complement each other perfectly. I'm an avid reader so am very happy that my husband has no idea how many books I have on my Kindle (I've had mine a couple of years now), whereas with the paperbacks he was always complaining about the amount of space they take up. However, nothing can replace my beautiful wine books, my study books (wine and history) or flipping through a magazine.