First Camera - help please

Hi everyone, I am looking to buy a camera so I can take some half decent pictures for my website. I don't want anything too complicated as I am a total beginner but intend to learn as much as I can, without blowing too much money if I prove to be totally useless, as I'm not hte slight bit artistic.

Please could anyone give me some ideas if this is a good halfway house camera Canon SX510 HS

Thanks in advance for any tips or alternatives.

I was a pro photographer for 25 years, and have always used Canon. I have a Canon DSLR, but I don't travel with it because it puts the "tourist" light over my head. For our travels, I always used a Canon IXUS until it was stolen on the Metro in 2009. I then used a Lumix, but was never happy with a few details. I have since bought another Canon IXUS for our travels. I find it is compact enough, and produces quality images for the "every man".

Hi Tracy

I was in your position last year. I had always wanted a Canon EOS or something similar as I wanted the ability to take quality photos and with a really good zoom. I discussed it with several friends (two of which were professional photographers) and also on a photo forum I belonged to. I didn't want the hassle of carrying different lenses etc nor the complication of all of this. I like spontaneity in photos. One of my professional photographer friends said that they thought I would be far better off with a Bridge Camera (not DSLR which requires lenses). In the end I ended up with a Nikon Coolpix P510 (it is a Bridge) and it is excellent. Easy to use, incredible built in zoom and wonderful quality photos. Hope this helps. You have had lots of suggestions so perhaps very confusing for you. Given that you are a beginner I would suggest go with a Bridge. There are many on the market - but happy with m Nikon.

Best wishes, Sarah