Getting a Job in France

Hello,
I doubt I’m the first person to broach this topic, but here goes anyway!
I’m planning to relocate to Paris from Los Angeles.
I’m a television producer, but certainly don’t need a job in TV. I’m happy to work in any industry that allows me to live my dream and be with my girlfriend (who is French but, alas, unemployed right now).
Are there organizations that help foreigners, specifically those from the US, find work in France?
Thanks for any help you can provide!

1 Like

Hi Mark and welcome to Paris,
You should contact the AmCham. That’s good networking. American Chamber of Commerce Paris

Christian

Thanks, Christian!
I’ll check them out but I’m in Los Angeles.
I’m only hoping/dreaming/planning to move to Paris. Are there support groups in Los Angeles?
I know that’s a shot in the dark, but I thought I’d ask!

Also, in your opinion, would retaining an immigration attorney make it easier to come to France?
Would he or she know shortcuts or have timely advice?
As opposed to only dealing with the consulate?
Thanks!

My understanding is that if you’re not also an EU citizen you would need to be sponsored by your future employer in order to get a work permit. The employer would have to apply for permission to employ you and explain why they had to hire a non-EU citizen to do the work, and that would involve demonstrating that you have particular skills and expertise that they haven’t been able to find within the EU. So I think you would do better to focus on your own field where you may have special skills that set you apart.
Unfortunately you can’t just come to France on a visitor visa and start looking for a job. I don’t think anyone can help you get round this, it’s how the system works and it is pretty watertight. If your visa doesn’t allow you to work then nobody can employ you, and the only way to get a visa that does allow you to work is if an employer succeeds in getting permission to employ you.