Painting Shutters

Hi everyone, I have been reading a lot about Painting in France & all the do’s & donts & what’s best & what’s rubbish !!!
I have been commissioned too refurbish a large property in St Jean yes it’s in very poor condition internally & externally, I can’t comment on French paint apart from the cost & have never used it & never will. I bring all my materials from the UK not from any particular supplier but yes they can match all your Little Green colours and a like.
I have been Decorating for almost forty years & as long as you prepare any surface correctly inside or out, you can repaint as you would at home although you may need some specific primers & sealers for any paint too adhere too a surface, which are much more resonable in price than here, with out them you’ll be in trouble.
I have never been a lover of acrylic based exterior paints unless it has been applied correctly when the timber was new & really wouldn’t apply it too a previously Oil based surface.
On a Shutter project, prepare them well and wood needs Oil and it has too be my no 1 favourite Sadolin & Sikkens there absolutely perfect for the job comes in a range of colours, have UV properties & are also which is very important when dealing with any timber at home or abroad !! They are Micropourous, which any time served Tradesmen will tell you, The timber has too breathe, timber externally & in some internals depending on the type of wood is a living breathing product which we continue too paint and seal it up with our gloss non nicropourous paint, it cannot breath it drys out, moisture penetrates and the paint peels.
Bottom line, the products are available, it’s just the knowledge generally of the guy selling it too you is poor.
Sorry any Diy ers but it’s Horses 4 courses.
Replies welcome
Signing off
Andrew Povey
City & Guilds Apprentice 1983 completed
Fully skilled time served tradesmen.