Where's the best place to live in France?!

Hello everyone, I have just joined the group and am starting to consider a permanent move to France. I lived and worked in Fontainebleau for 2 years a very, VERY long time ago, so I do speak French, but it's a bit rusty. Hopefully it will come back fairly quickly.

I'm on my own, with 2 golden retrievers. I'm a lawyer, working part time as a consultant - and I'm also a writer. I'd like to wind down the legal work and semi retire, continuing with writing, but also perhaps getting a back-up income from renting out a gite or two.

My dilemma is where on earth to go - France is huge! The weather's a biggie for me and I ideally don't want to move to somewhere where the climate is essentially similar to the UK. I love the great outdoors and walking the countryside with my dogs and I'm heartily sick of doing so in mud for about 8 months of the year in Gloucestershire! I don't mind a cold-ish winter, especially if it tends towards crisp and frosty rather than excessively wet and windy.

I'm driving down to the Dordogne next month, arriving on 6 June, and staying mid-way between Angouleme and Perigueux for 3 weeks, having arranged a handy house swap. So I will start exploring then. It would be great to hear the experiences of anyone in that area, especially if you are close enough for us to be able to say hello while I'm there. And also just to hear others' thoughts on whichever area of France they have chosen to live.

I absolutely loved my time living in France before, am fairly outgoing and sociable and was lucky to get on well with French people... but somehow it all feels a little more daunting this time around, approaching retirement age and considering a move to an area where I will know absolutely no one. So it would also be lovely to hear from anyone who has also done this on their own. Thank you!

Hi Lindsey.

A toughie...