Working as a Therapist/Counsellor in France

Hi,

In the UK after taking early retirement in 2000, I worked as a self-employed UKCP (United Kingdom Council for Psychotherapy) Registered Psychotherapist. I continued my professional development by qualifying as a supervisor then after 8 years research in 2010 was awarded a Doctorate in Humanistic and Integrative Psychotherapy Practice.

Largely due to breaking my leg in April 2014 (ladder slipped when I was cleaning the roof of our Hymer-not such a clever clogs after all) I did little work that year. We also lived in our Hymer from September 2014, came to France in February 2015 and bought our house in 33540 in May 2015.

There is a question coming don't worry! A doctor asked for my card so he could refer ex-pats and there has been some interest shown elsewhere. I & my wife have state & organisational pensions. I do not think I can work as a psychotherapeute here since I am not a medical doctor or a psychologist. Were I to work as a counsellor/therapist I understand I would need to register as microentrepreneur, but is there another organisation with whom I would need to register? A fellow counsellor said the profession was not regulated here in France & we were 'under the radar' but I want to be sure.

Thanks for your help,

Roger

Thanks again Ley.

Your reply really cheered me up. Just had the sad news that an old friend, mentor & father-figure during my training died last July-Dr. Ken Evans. He was always SO alive. Since September 2014 we have been motorhome gypsies & our old email address died with the house sale so I guess that's why we never knew.

I am still a BACP member although I have now discovered that my sabbatical from UKCP only lasted 12 months & expired last October! Had I known I would have rejoined-oh well. They will advise & it seems like I may need to be 'signed for'-feels a bit like getting into a dodgy club!