Afghanistan - why is the Taliban takeover a surprise?

I am no expert, but you don’t have to be to figure that as soon as the thousands of foreign troops pulled out of Afghanistan the Taliban would just take over the country again.
What on earth did all the so-called experts think was going to happen?
I am stunned that governments have been “caught by surprise”.

I do feel sorry for the families who have lost members in the struggle all to have it thrown away but frankly I think Afghanistan should be left to its own devices & if the population tolerate the Taliban then that is their choice. If they don’t want the Taliban then they can do something about it themselves.

North Korea is isolated & the same protocols could be applied here.

I’m sure that I will now be told about the oppression of women & children but I would rather hear about solutions.

It’s not as simple as that, the Taliban have been sheltering countless terrorist groups that are now free to wreak havoc around the world using Afghanistan as a safe base and the country itself will become another strict Islamic state with dire consequences for those that worked for and helped the Allies.

Rory Stewart said that a small allied force had been in place in recent years and there had been few casualties holding back the Taliban. Rory Stewart: Afghanistan is a betrayal and catastrophic failure - BBC News
Afghanistan 'heading for civil war' says Defence Secretary - BBC News