Ambulance and EHIC Card

Hello guys, had a suspected spinal injury a couple of weeks ago, and obviously with any injury to your neck we had to call an ambulance. They took my EHIC card details, brought me to the hospital and apart from absolute un professionalism, inability to handle spinal injuries or even use the collar to immobilise the neck, there were no bills or anything. Today, however, we received a phone call from the ambulances demanding my social security number, so being a british resident I tried to give them my nhs and national insurance number, just for them to say that that does not work and I need to pay 170 euros?! Speaking to the EHIC team, they told me my card should suffice for any emergency bills. Anyone had any problems with this at all and could advise me please?

I would not expect a telephone call, chasing an ambulance bill… I had not received.

I have always received invoices through the post, for any outstanding amounts re ambulance/treatment or whatever… (where there has been a misunderstanding of info… or info has been lacking).

So, all they have to do is send you the Bill.

Personally, I would chat with my Mairie… ask their advice… as they are wonderfully helpful and cut through all sorts of red-tape/chaos to help us Brits (and others of course). Is this a possibility for you… ?

Heck sounds awful! Just out of interest - did it turn out to be a spinal injury? Hope you’re ok now!

As for the ambulance bill, as a non resident - just pay it and reclaim via Newcastle.

Thanks for the reply, thy said they will send out a bill and it should come round within 2 days to both my home address and my partner’s French address.
The question there would be, do I just walk in to the mairie to talk to them or do I need to arrange an appointment? My French is not exactly that advanced, So probably I would need assistance of my girl. Just don’t know if I should pay the bill as it comes or do I forward it onto EHIC?