Anglo French Law Anyone have any experience?

Has anyone used Anglo French Law of Newcastle to assist with their purchase of a property in France?

Can’t give you any advice on Anglo French Law but we used Heslopp & Platt http://www.heslop-platt.co.uk/ - they were OK but it does add quite a bit to the costs.

Hi Anne… just wondering why your are thinking of using a UK company… ???

1 Like

We’re still in UK starting the house buying process. To be honest we didn’t give much thought to using a French firm. I suppose we thought it would be helpful to go and see someone face to face if there were problems.

It will be a French Notaire who handles the Sale/Purchase for a French property…and there are those who speak English… (if that is necessary)…

In my view, involving a UK company might simply complicate/delay matters…

3 Likes

Interesting comment, Stella. Thank you. Why do you say it?
I am nigh on fluent in French, but I am not a lawyer, let alone one versed in the french system. Even if the notaire translates I don’t know the significance of arreté X or code Y.

Also forgot to mention that the Notaire omitted from the compromis the one clause suspensive we requested . So someone on our side seemed a good move. Hope that helps explain where we’re coming from .

Presumably you did not sign the Compromis until the clause suspensive was included. That Notaire was (presumably) chosen by the Seller… but will not have omitted the clause for any dark purpose… :wink:

You can choose your own Notaire…if you wish…and with your French language skills you should have no problem whatsoever.

In my experience, the Notaires bend over backwards to ensure that every t is crossed and i dotted… and every syllable is understood by all parties.

Most house sales in France are carried out without a solicitor, the Notaire acts on behalf of the government to ensure the paperwork is in order.