Another goods/customs thread

I know there are frequent exchanges about moving stuff across the channel post b-word, but I’ve never found any real world examples that reflect my own dilemma, & I can’t find anything definitive via the customs sites on either side of la Manche.

I’m a permanent French resident & will be travelling to England via Ouistreham-Portsmouth & Cherbourg-Portsmouth routes a couple of times in May & June this year. I will be driving a small white van which will contain personal effects & well used tools - these don’t worry me in terms of customs.

I will also be carrying a quantity of electrical items which I use on site at an outdoor event in the UK. Essentially it’s a pile of cables & site lighting - small floodlights, fluorescent light fittings, etc. None of it is new (most of it is 13 years old), & it’s all in a custom format in terms of connectors & mountings.

There will also be odd bits of timber & ply, a couple of trestle tables, some odd bits of aluminium scaffold pole. Again, none of this will be new.

Has anyone got any idea how this will be viewed by customs folk at any of the ports mentioned? Theoretically everything that leaves France will be returning to France.

In terms of commercial gain from these goods I receive a fee for dry hiring the goods to the event. I also I receive a payment for my activities on site, but via a separate fee.

Does anyone have real world experience of such an arrangement? My present attitude is to “wing it” rather than try to obtain some kind of paperwork. However, I’m used to the world of carnets as I used to be involved moving hire equipment from the UK into Europe back in the days before the single market.

why can’t you ask re this?

Or the fall back would be to prepare a very detailed list of all the goods and an attestation sur l’honneur that they will be returning exactly as present.