Being taken to a Tribunal

Our tenant, who left 18 months ago, is taking us to a Tribunal for a variety of issues relating to her tenancy.

I don't want to go into the details, and we are going to see an avocat tomorrow to prepare our case.

I really just want to know what we can expect during the time we are in Court - how formal is it, should we wear posh clothes, do we talk or do we leave it to the avocat, how can we avoid seeing and talking to the other party...etc etc.

It may not help that I am reading Bleak House at the moment - so any helpful advice and useful tips and hints would be really welcome - thank you so much!

Not a lawyer to be found in Heaven, right?

Well I am a lawyer and I live in heaven - the south-west of France!

Q -What do you call 500 lawyers on the ocean floor?

A- A start...

Thank you to all.

I have just seen an avocat and we will work through the defence together - I have plenty of papers to show!

Saint Peter stood at the Pearly Gates and a soul in deep distress told him there must have been some dreadful mistake - his papers were wrong and he was due to enter Heaven and not the other place.

Saint Peter took pity on him and ordered a seraphim to find a lawyer so that the man could properly present his case. He waited for what seemed an eternity: eventually the seraphim returned but with no lawyer alongside. Peter was very cross - why had the seraphim not done as he had asked? Well, said the seraphim, I looked all over but I couldn't find a lawyer anywhere.

Hello Rosie,

Sorry to hear about your problem. As a (retired) solicitor from England, I can tell you that although basic principles of law are often very similar in France, there are nevertheless many differences.

There are certainly substantial differences in practice and procedure - there is more reading of documents than there is speaking by lawyers, parties or witnesses.