Brugmansis Arborea - anyone know their habits

I'm a novice gardener and I've got a new plot to play with in Ile de France. We're a bit south of Paris but a bit more exposed to frost than they are in the Smoke.

Can anyone give me some advice on how to go about keeping my Brugmansis - Angel's Trumpet? At the moment, it's in a pot - probably with its roots in a knot - and is pretty much a trunk with some flowers at the top. I'd like to put it in the ground, but I know they're used to much hotter climates and I'm worried it won't make it through the winter. Has anybody succeeded in growing them in the garden in northern-ish parts?

Otherwise, I'm going to have to buy a greenhouse, as we don't have anywhere to put it in winter!

Jardiland Schmardiland... I bought it from Lidl! You do get the odd interesting thing there, though they don't always grow.

Go on, Brian, be a devil - you know you want to!
Pamela, read the link and got an instant high from the word 'cuttings':)
I'll post photos when it does something. At the moment, it's just got the one pod, and holey leaves after the horrible hailstones of last week.

Ah, you are an angel - aaargh, mentioned that word! Perhaps I am simply an endangered species.

OK - next time, tell me before you go to Jardiland and I won't post anything to do with lovely plants so you can avoid all temptation...

Pamela, I wish you had not responded TODAY. Some of us are meeting in Jardiland and I might well have walked in and nosed around... Now I consider myself at high risk :-(

Mind you - if I 'accidentally' buy an angel's trumpet then I might thank you ;-)

I don't know this plant, but was intrigued by the posting so I've done a bit of research on the net. Sounds like a beautiful addition to the garden with its tropical appearance and - large perfumed flowers! This website seems to have some useful information: http://entheology.com/features/brugmansia-arborea-angels-trumpet-tree/
look forward to some photos when it's established :)