Buying barns - legal process

Hi

Newbie here! We have had an offer accepted on a property consisting of several delapidated barns. Our aim is to convert one for us and the others as gites. Are there any permissions required and if so, who from, to convert to gites? Are we ok to use just the notary, or should we have a solicitor too? Any help gratefully received about the whole process!

Thanks

Thank you all for taking the time to reply. It has been made a condition that the permission is in place and covers all the buildings. With regard to gites this is a longer term possibility and the main aim is to have somewhere for ourselves. We were never going to rely on gites for main income. I forgot to mention that my husband is a builder!
Good to know there are supportive people out there willing to share experiences and knowledge.

Gloomy but true Brian. One might be better considering an existing "business" there are still some places lodged twenty years ago. The sort of places that advertise for "furniture suitable for a gite" on various Anglo sites. But pay close attention to the chiffres d'affaires, the occupancy rate and the overall profit. What people look for now is a degree of comfort; They want a pool , rooms with ensuite showers/bains, climatisation, a dish washer etc etc etc. When me and my wife first came to the South West thirty years ago we were quite happy for the rent to be twenty pounds a week payable to our UK resident hosts (on the black no doubt). No more I fear. Why go to all the hassle of buying investing in a wreck when there are loads of Anglos dying to off-load their businesses so called. Sorry to be so negative but that's the way it is.