Can a Neighbour Unilaterally Suppress a Right of Way?

Hello SFNers. I'm looking for some legal advice here. Some of you who know what I do for a living will surely be saying - he should know this stuff already - but I have a doubt.

I own a house in the Charente that my mum lives in. For all intents and purposes, it's my mum's house, but I am the legal owner. There is free access to the front door, but the rear door is accessed over someone else's land. All rights of way have been long established and are all subject to long standing rights confirmed by notarial act.

This rear access is essential for diesel and wood deliveries. There is no other access to the rear.

The kindly neighbour over whose land we have the right has approached my mum this morning stating that he is willing to suppress this right of way as it is affecting the sale of his house and create another access over another neighbour's land. The other neighbour has already told him to bog off. The guy wanting to suppress the right has since been to the Maire and has been told that the Maire will put pressure on the refusing neighbour. To be honest I think the thing affecting the sale of his house is the price - but that is my opinion. For the record, the right of way is used on a daily basis by my mum.

My question is: Can the neighbour suppress the right without my consent, even if the Maire gets involved?

I think I know the answer, but.....all practical examples and experiences will be welcome.

ps: I don't want to know what would happen if it was the UK thanks.

Well ours isn't but it would really help us to keep the nettles down with a good trample now and again.

Slightly OT, but this discussion on servitudes reminds me of problems with access to wells that were considered "communal" - in theory, anyone can walk over your land to access it and draw water from it, even if it is in the middle of your garden !