Carte Grise for 1968 Tractor and Insurance for Caravans, Ride-on Mowers etc

Hi - I have just bought a house in France and I am having problems completing the change of ownership documents for our 1968 Zetor Tractor which came with the house.

I have the certificat d’immatriculation from when it was purchased by the previous owner in 1975 and the completed certificat de cession. I originally tried to do the change of ownership paperwork through FranceConnect but gave up due to difficulties logging on (I am new to France and don’t have a social security number/tax number etc yet). I was unable to obtain a Certificat de Situation Administrative for the tractor as the Ministry of Justice website didn’t recognise the number plate of the tractor.

I then approached one of the accredited professional companies who will do this for a fee and sent off the paperwork requested. They have just informed me that they can not process it as the vehicle has a short serial number and their system doesn’t recognise it, so they are refunding me. Due to its age the tractor doesn’t actually have a vehicle identification number (VIN)/serial number so in this box I put down the ‘No. de Fabric’ which is a five digit number. The only other option I can see is the ‘No. du Moteur’ which is 4 digits followed by a slash and then another 5 digits. Does anyone have any ideas please of what I should do in this situation?

Also, am I right in thinking that if you have a tractor which is only used on your land and not taken onto the public road you don’t need vehicle insurance for it?

Thanks.

It is probably a vehicule de collection, statut particulier if so. You do have to insure it, but only under your responsabilité civile I think.

You certainly do have to insure it- just like folk with ride-on mowers. Anything motorised needs Insurance. Check with your local Agent and get whatever cover suits your situation.