Changing clause 'Tontine' to 'Societe Civile Immobilier' ownership

I’m wondering if anyone definitively knows whether it is possible to change the ownership of a house from 2 Tontiniers into a Societe Civile Immobilier where the syndicate (societe) members would be the current 2 tontiniers plus the two children of one of the current tontiniers ?
Clearly it would have to be done via a Notaire, but I’m just wondering if it is actually possible to do it ?

I know you can annul a clause tontine as we have one on our flat and had thought about doing as our need for one no longer exists. It just costs money to do so.

As for then placing the house in an SCI I have no experience to offer, presumably you have to “resell” the house to an SCI. But do work through all the implications with an accountant as well as a notiare to make sure this option works for you. You need to ask questions about capital gains tax, business tax, accountancy requirements on the company and so on.

Thanks for that Jane. I must admit that I hadn’t considered the need for accountancy advice which is something I will look into.

You should definitely take some tax advice on this as the 2 current owners will be disposing of 50% of the property even if it is just being gifted. The UK situation would be relatively straightforward (if you are UK resident and domiciled) but no idea about the French tax implications in terms of capital gains tax and inheritance tax. You don’t want to find yourself with an unexpected tax bill!

Hi,
If you are considering doing this to protect the interests of the children of one of the tontiniers, you may want to consider annulling the tontine and reverting to owning 50/50 in indivision ,
then making a donation entre époux (cost about 140€).