Communal meal for over 72s

I’ve received and accepted with thanks an invitation to our town’s annual meal for Sourdevalais(es) over 72, who are indeed nombreux/nombreuses.

I’ve no prior experience of such events and, although looking forward to it keenly, I wonder if anyone can clue me in to what’s generally involved. My next door neighbour who isn’t going himself says they last up to four hours, which suggests a lot of eating, and a lot of conversation, which will give me an opportunity to practice my rather limited conversational French.

I have boned up on table etiquette so I don’t attract attention from neighbouring guests aghast at my manners or lack thereof, and I shall go very easy in the booze. Unless that attracts critical attention.

I don’t know how many elderly Brits will be there, and I hope I don’t attract the Maire’s attention or be expected to introduce myself. I did write a congratulatory letter to the Mairie about the extrarordinarily lavish attention given by municipal staff to the floral displays, massifs and park areas, which was published in the town bulletin last year… :thinking::roll_eyes:

Anyway any words of advice will be welcome and pondered before the big day. My wife can’t attend because she didn’t want to go on the electoral list
which is an essential criterion for the nosh-up, and my plea to have her invited was primly but firmly denied by the Maire’s adjoint.

Ta very much! :yum:

The annual "repas des aînés ", - I get invited every year as a conseiller municipaux, in our commune, it doesn’t appear that there are any/many table manners and most are out for as much free scoff and booze as they can possibly get…enjoy! :plate_with_cutlery::wine_glass::wine_glass::wine_glass::wine_glass::wine_glass::wine_glass::beer::beer::beer:

1 Like

We are a very small commune and we are expecting to have to pay for our annual seniors meal this Christmas.
The two restaurants, which are the only commerce in the commune, take it in turn to cater.