Controle Technique - again

I am supposed to be going to collect a 1980 Peugeot 504 pick up on Monday. It is ‘apparently’ in good repair and I plan to drive it home…about 400kms.
I have some experience of these matters but am getting conflicting advice and wondered what response or help I could gain here.
There are two points really…
The vendor (hardly surprisingly) says that I can drive it home without a CT providing that I have insurance. I have heard this before but believe that you also have to have at least made an appointment for a CT. Whether or not this can be 400 kms away at your local garage or it has to be around the corner from the purchase I do not know? My French buddy further says that even if you do get pulled over by the gendarmes they are generally sympathetic to collectable vehicles and it would be a fine at the worst.

The second point is that because I may have to take the FFVE route can I even make an appointment for a CT if I have not yet immatriculated the vehicle in my name.

Finally to anyone who has or has had a 504 pickup…they are very robust and fairly simple machines. On this particular one the cab floor has supposedly been repaired. I shall see.
The owner says there is some rust on the chassis so welding will likely be required. Is there any rule of thumb as to when this particular chassis is too far gone? Any critical weak spots etc?

Thanks in advance for any advice either from the admin or mechanical side.

As far as I am aware… a Vehicle should NOT be sold without a CT… (even a classic).

Prior 1960’s only require a CT at point of sale…

Vehicles after 1960… the CT should have been carried out LESS THAN 6 months before the sale…
the CT document is part and parcel of the Sale… so the Seller should organize it…

best of luck…

3 Likes

You’re right, of course, Stella.
In order to effect the transfer on ANTS you need to have a valid CT. There are exceptions but not in this case.
Here’s a link to confirm.
Izzy x