Currency exchange companies

Hi all,

This is my first time on this forum, but I have read a lot of the posts in the last few days and I think it's great! My husband and I are planning to relocate to France after selling our house here, as I am French and want to go back, and since starting our search we have been inundated with adverts and e-mails from currency exchange companies. We are a little scared of using them though, as we didn't even know they existed until a few weeks ago. Have people on the forum had experience of them? Which ones are trustworthy? Any advice will be welcomed. Thanks.

Just that they hadn't come across them before and didn't like the look of their website. Laurence

Can highly recommend Transferwise. I use them regularly and have not been disappointed.

Have used TorFX (Australia) for few years for large and small transactions with no problems, transactions have to be confirmed over the phone, which occasionally has been a pain, but they make an effort to ring me at a reasonable time , I have a trading account with OzForex which has a more online version for real time spot rates but again phone calls required for new transaction confirmation. Just mainly stuck with TorFX as has been efficient.
TorFX can usually be persuaded to match or beat (slightly) if you can demonstrate you have found a better rate, but not always the best if you don’t haggle a bit.
Generally has been financially speaking a great money saver. Research any company before using them.

Hi Laurence,

I'm a bit concerned about a bank advising against Smart specifically. Can you tell me what they said please?

Thanks,

Alan

Thank you for your advice Alan, David and James. We have been contacted by Smart as well as by many others. TorFX was the latest one to get in touch, and from checking them out over the last 24 hours they do seem good. Our bank advised us against Smart though, but then again they would I supposed, if it means losing business! Laurence

Hi Laurence,