Decorator/Handyman will work for digs

Hi there,
I thinking about retiring to France and would like to get the feel for the place first, so I’m offering my services in return for digs, terms to be negotiated.

I am a time served Painter and Decorator, and for the last 8 years have been working here in Germany as self-employed. I have been painting private houses and doing a variety of semi-skilled jobs on building sites.
I’m good at:
Painting and Decorating, Signwriting and Signmaking, Gold Leaf work. Laying Laminate. Fixing Roller Shutters.
I’m quite good at:
Installing Doors and Windows. Small Electrical Jobs.
Small Plumbing Jobs. Insulating Walls and Ceilings.
I also drive a Multivan and have my own tools.

If anybody is interested please contact me jn19542005@googlemail.com or reply here.
If anybody knows of any temporary jobs going, I would also be interested in these.
Best wishes
John

1 Like

It’s a nice idea but be aware that this sort of arrangement would put you “below the radar”, so in a sense, it wouldn’t give you an all-round feel for living in France.
From the fisc’s point of view, they would want you to pay rent for your accommodation (so that the landlord pays tax on it) and they would expect you to be registered, invoicing and declaring your income for any artisan work you do (so that you pay tax and social contributions on that, and so that there is no “unfair competition” ie taking work awat from qualified paid-up artisans).
It would need to be kept quiet because potentially there could be quite high penalties for this kind of arrangement, and in the longer term it risks complicating your dealings with officialdom because various papertrails will be missing, such as proof of residence in France/rental contract, employment status/where your income comes from/entitlement to health cover, obligatory insurance to cover any ‘gros oeuvres’ that you might do, professional insurance to cover any accidents that might happen…