Does French IBAN makes life easier for tax returns?

Hey, my friends. First of all thank you for helping me out 2 times before in this very forum : )

Now I have another question. I have a Wise bank account (with a Belgium IBAN) and this is account I get my salary each month and use it on a daily basis as well. I am on a CDI contract in Paris, though.

My question is if I would be penalized somehow next year during tax returns for not having a French IBAN. Any tips?

Thank you!

Extremely doubtful you would be “penailised” for having a Belgian IBAN. Why would you begin to think so?

It’s just that I am new in Europe itself (not only in France) and everything seems to have a problem with this Belgian IBAN (I got this one through Wise.com). So if I am having problems for companies to accept my IBAN, I thought that maybe the government would be even worse.

I’m not sure you can get a carte vitale without an FR or MC IBAN. Others here may know better and whether if you contact the CPAM direct with a RIB they can to it, but I’m almost certain the AMELI online form pre-formats with only those two options available. I don’t know how far along you are with that side of things, maybe you already have it sorted and I’m not correct. That’s the only place government-wise where I’ve ever encountered a potential issue with not having a french IBAN, everything else is fine, no extra charges or such, after-all, it’s illegal not to take European IBANS so these agencies can only drag their feet for so long before it just looks embarrassing.

Hey @kirsteastevenson , thank you very much for your response. Got it. Ok, I am not near close to asking for a Carte Vitale, but I’ll try to open a French Bank account asap so I don’t encounter any issues in the future, Merci beaucoup!

1 Like