Exit:Taxes and banking loose ends

I know some SFN members used to live in France but no longer do. There's a possibility that might be forced on me soon so I have questions about tying up loose ends in France.

My bank once told me that if I left France permanently I would have to close my bank account. The problem is, I won't be paid my salary for the final month of work nor the thousands owed me for overtime for the year until 6 weeks after I will have been forced to leave. That's how the public system works in education. This seems immoral to me. I am a contracted uni teacher whose right to work in France (and thus live) will expire in August if I don't miraculously have a new contract by July. I have ZERO confidence the uni/state system would transfer my money owned to a NZ account - snort! How do I get paid if I am no longer in the country?

Taxes. If I leave in August I won't have paid my tax d'habitation for the year. Do I have to do that even if I'm no longer here? I also won't be in the country and earning in 2016 to pay the normal impots for 2015 ( not having a PAYE system here is a nightmare). Frankly, I'm as poor as a church mouse and will struggle to find the money for my airfare back to NZ but don't want to fall foul of THE STATE. If I don't pay the year in advance owing will I be stopped at the border if I ever try to come back to France for a visit in the future? Will the fonctionnaires even be able to organise the system for me to pay in avance (assuming I must)? Sometimes letting those sleeping dogs lie is best.

What do those of you who understand the systems here think I should do?