Hardware for govt software

I use Linux lite on a very old PC and have a smartphone. I need something cheap to run govt software. Something with a reasonable keyboard or keypad So I’m tempted to buy a Chromebook. I’m only slightly familiar with ameli which seems to work fine on a browser. But I have no knowledge of any other govt software. Any suggestions would be welcome

Firstly, which version of Linux are you using and what is the basic spec of your old machine.
Some “flavours” of Linux run very well on old PCs with little RAM.
Secondly, why govt software are you looking to use.

1 Like

I’d pick something with an i5 processor from the last 4 years plus 8GB RAM and if you can, SSD to boot. I’ve no idea what the software will require, but that should be OK for at least another 3-5 years. If buying PC stuff, try to avoid things based on laptop hardware, since that will always run less effectively than equivalent spec tower hardware and is often a bit cheaper.

I recently acquired a couple of ex-office systems with nominally similar processor performance, 1 micro system using laptop hardware & one small form factor with mATX motherboard. The larger form factor boots much faster to W10 desktop, and feels much snappier to use. I also popped Mint-cinnamon on the micro unit, but even then it’s not so responsive.

Linux Lite - it lives up to the name (XFCE based IIRC).

1 Like

Sorry @Ancient_Mariner quite right… Debian/ubuntu based and should run most things on legacy machines - usually provided you don’t try to run it in a dual boot environment with Windoze of any version…
This Q&A from Ask ubuntu might point you in the right direction…

I wouldn’t advise a Chromebook unless price is your main driver.

1 Like

Out of interest, why not dual boot?

FWIW I’ve been pleased with how snappy an OS can feel off a live pen drive.