Have you ever felt discriminated against here in France because of your nationality?

I'm asking this now due to recent experiences here in the Dordogne after the recent terrible hail storm that has wreaked havoc on peoples roofs and cars.

I am a builder and experienced roofer, I have received many calls from clients to sort their roofs out, to bache them up or to remedially insert new tiles to secure them from water ingress.

Most of my clients are British and Dutch, they have so far all told the same story, that none of the French roofers will attend their property to help them, many of these people speak very good French so it's not a language issue. In my village this week a team of roofers protected every roof except those of the 2 Dutch families.

I have also found that some of my suppliers are quite xenophobic, often not offering me the preferred professional rate for materials, until I point it out to them, when they just say they didn't know that I was an artisan, after 10 years of being their customer.

I've lived here 10 years now and I think it's getting worse, what are your experiences?

People from the north of France or who haven't got southern accents get a hard time here too!

Definitely! I am very lucky compared to what some of the poor people of other origins get called! They are also quite nasty around here to other people who aren't from this part of France... stealing jobs and all of that. I also get discriminated against here because I'm a woman but it wasn't that bad in Lyon so I just suck eggs and get on with it; it must be a country thing. The area is getting more and more cosmopolitan so attitudes will evolve.