Is it worth becoming an AE?

Experienced AEs, taking this new announcement into consideration would you advise others to become an AE? I am a qualified teacher trying to get some teaching hours and want to know if it is worth my while becoming an AE so I can try and work with companies directly. Any advice you have would be much appreciated!

I have taken this from another section of SFN but figure it could throw a bit of light on how the autoentrepreneur scheme works for those needing to raise revenue and also so consumers can see that autoentrepreneurs give just as good vale and have to adhere to many of the same legal requirements as the more established type of professionals.

Andre, I am prof liberale but not sure what you meant by a Sat.No - do you mean a SIRET number? If so, the answer is yes.

Also a long term resident, I totally agree with you Simon, there is nothing simpler!

When applied to teaching, could somebody explain the difference between the two terms Auto Entrepreneur and Indépendant, please?

Yes you can, my OH is registered for two activities that are very different.

Thank you Sheila,

Hi Joan. I don't think you can register two different types of business, but others may know more. I registered as a teacher, although we also do a bit of B&B on the side during high season. To play it safe, I declared all income on my last return, whether it came from teaching or B&B.

I have been in France for 30 years and assure you that there does not exist a simpler way of having a professional status.

Go for it.

Thanks for that Tracy. I did download the form but did not have my tax number for some time after that so never sent it off. Pity. Too late now. Oh well, maybe someone else will learn from my mistake. Thanks for taking the time to explain it.

Hi Sheila, ACCRE is the reduced social charges you should be paying for AE for the first three years. More info is available here but the relevant bit for you is pasted below.