Just a hi

Hello everyone. My name's James.

Right. Best do the intro, I suppose. I'm a journalist and writer with rather more years' experience than can be healthy - for me or my family.

After two stints at the Press Association separated by a few years at the Scunthorpe Telegraph and later the Grimsby Telegraph - and later still working across both centres as the two papers' chief (read only) features writer - in 2009 my journalist wife and I took a great leap of... well, faith, if we're being polite about it... and upped sticks, mixed metaphors and moved lock, stock and barrel down to south-west France - bringing our too-young-to-be-a journalist daughter with us.

We're now in France's rugby heartland in Castres, about an hour west of Toulouse, and a far cry from North Lincolnshire. More mountains, for one thing.

And we've since been joined by our definitely-too-young-to-be-a-journalist son.

So, here we are. Hi.

Definitely… or maybe the mountain air.

Just waving a Hi to you both. Teresa I live about 30 minutes from where you will be so once you are settled and if you fancy a coffee give me a shout.

Congratulations on your new addition James. Same thing happened to us lol except we were "blessed" with twins! I reckon it's something in the water here.

Good luck to you all on your new lives x

Hi Teresa -

Look forward to maybe, hopefully, saying hi in person in 11 weeks or so after you've nearly settled in.

Yes, both my wife and I work in Castres (well, just outside - near the sadly non-international airport that's so small it shuts for lunch, allegedly).

We both work for an editorial outsourcing agency that does a lot of work, ironically, with Irish newspapers, so there's quite an Irish / English enclave in and around Castres.

In fact, some colleagues of ours live in Soreze, which I think is close to Revel. Lucky you for going to the same area. It's a lovely little town.