Letting my Apartment in Montpellier - Advice please

Hi,

It's been a dream of mine for many years to live in France. I eventually purchased a small apartment as a Buy to Let in Montpellier two years ago. My long term plan is eventually to move there either permanently or at least semi-permanently, but I would still be interested in keeping touch with people living there now with a view building up contacts.

Having a nightmare at the moment with my tenant though. It's almost brought me to the verge of putting the apartment up for sale. He never pays his rent on time and I haven't a clue how to get him out. I've been trying to find a Rental Management Company who could take the apartment over for me either to rent full-time or seasonally. I'm not very good with the French language and i know that's a distinct disadvantage, but I am trying really hard to learn.

If anyone has any ideas, I'd be more than grateful.

Thanks,

Helen

Hi,

Thanks to all who replied to my previous dilemma regarding trouble with my French tenant. I went to Montpellier in March this year (2014) and I met with an agency called Guy Hoquet. Their office is just a street away from my apartment. They have taken control of things and 'lo & behold' my tenant is now paying his rent on time! The Agency take 8% commission which is quite reasonable, I think. They are in regular contact with my tenant. It's such a weight off my mind - Fingers crossed it will all go smoothly from here on.

Regards

Helen

Most of them do, if they don't there are plenty of associations that will assist them.

Do not forget that the rental agreement must be in French otherwise it has no legal status.

These rental nomads we have also in Germany. A real nuisance. I think this is a small group in every country. Could be a good idea to post this great invitation for free accommodation on websites in Arab Spring countries.

Yes but they usually do not know French law :) French tenants DO !!!