Looking for a house sit this summer

If anyone is looking for house and/or pet sitters this summer we’d dearly love to help? I know there are various house sitting websites available but they cost money to join and part of the reason for trying to find a house sit is to save money! We have some experience and are fairly sensible people, flexible and not given to holding wild parties in other people’s houses. We are planning the move to France next year so it would be a great way to get more experience - if you’re in the Charente region so much the better - and to improve our French. If its during the summer holidays then we’d need to bring our 9 year old daughter but she’s even more sensible than we are! Sorry if this is considered inappropriate for the forum but its been such a help in other respects I thought I’d give it a go. James & Catherine please delete if that’s the case.

3 Likes

A little bit more about us… we’re both in our mid-50s, I work as an office administrator for an events company and my wife is currently a ‘dinosaur wrangler’ for a local Council. As any of you who have read my blog https://leroideprusse.com will know, we plan on selling our 300 year old house in Yorkshire and moving to France, hopefully next year. In the meantime the house is taking up much of our time, and all of our money, so we’re having to be imaginative in order to get away this year. We don’t need much, just somewhere to sit and read in the sun, a kitchen to prepare food and a bed for the night. So house sitting seems to fit the bill… we exchange our time and attention in return for accommodation in warmer climes.