Looking for French Healthcare Legislation Text

Hi there - does anyone know where I can find any legal text clearly demonstrating the rules about applying as an inactive retiree for PUMa - notably WHEN one can apply? The CLEISS in Paris could not actually give me an answer when I called to ask what the difference is between applying after 3 months and after 5 years.They just told me that 5 years has been written into the legislation but that you can apply after 3 months. In either case, each application is assessed on its own merits. So there is really no difference. Améli helpline still telling people they have to wait five years before they can apply. I’d really like to nail this down! Appreciate any clues, links… Thanks!

As a matter of interest:

which country have you retired from
how long have you been living in France…

you may have confused the issue by asking CLEISS what the difference is, regarding the timescale… :wink:

I do this for a living! But the legislative text is exceedingly elusive! And I’d like to be able to refer to it to prove to the Améli team that they are wrong about the 5-year rule. :slight_smile:

This is probably the text you are looking for

but as Stella says, you have to be sure you are reading the bit that applies to your precise situation. There are different routes to healthcare and different criteria to be met, depending on all kinds of factors.

As a general rule - if you can prove 5 years’ unbroken legal residence in France as EU citizen, then you have an automatic entitlement on the same terms as a French person. Between 3 months and 5 years, acceptance for healthcare is conditional on you continuing to meet the criteria.

Aha… so you are not the inactive retiree…:wink:

I am not aware that anything much has changed…The inactive retiree goes to the local offices, …then, depending on each individual situation… completes applications and waits…