Moving to Languedoc-Roussillon

This is the first time I've done this so hope it's okay. Myself and husband Henry Blackmore hoping to move from Dublin next September. With that in mind, we are looking for a 3 month rental for April to June to do some on the ground research for a place to live. I would welcome any suggestions, advice, contacts re rental, etc. Ideally, the 3-month rental would be around 30 - 45 minutes drive from Carcassonne.

Thanks

Sheila

I have never done a blog before, except a post in the “introduce yourself” section, which was back last January, when we were looking for somewhere to rent for 3 months to do some on the ground research for a place to rent longterm or to buy. Well, since then, we found our rental (through an SFN member!). We landed on 28th March and have spent a glorious time since then experiencing life in a mediaeval village. Village life is a whole new experience for Henry and me - we both grew up the suburbs of South Dublin, minutes away from all amenities. Now, with military precision, we have to plan shopping and all other activities around the closing hours here. We missed closing time at the little shop here in the village once, and ended up having tinned cassoulet and yesterday’s bread. Quelle horreur! Needless to say, it has only happened once! At least, we had had the wit to buy some canned goods on our first excursion to Intermarché.

We have experienced the markets, the daily life in the village, the frustrating but ultimately successful attempt to register our car here, met many people - delightful, mannerly, quirky, or just plain odd, and I should add it’s quite a mixture of ex-pats, Irish, English, Welsh, Scottish, German, Dutch, Spanish, and of course the French.

After ten weeks here, we have decided this village is for us. We are currently negotiating on purchasing a property. Fingers crossed for us please! :slight_smile: