Moving to Pau soon

Hi everyone. I stumbled across this site when I did a google search for Pau and found the invitation for a spa day. I won’t be there in time, but this struck me as a good group of people to get to know!

My family is moving to Pau for a year, starting this August. My husband will be doing research at the University, my 15 year-old daughter bravely plans to go to school in French and her 18 year old brother will do the intensive French language training at the U. I am a writer and web consultant, so my work can travel with me.

If you want to learn more about my interests, I’ve got two websites on the go at the moment: http://kidscareunited.org and http://temafrank.com. I’m also planning to launch a third one with my reactions to France as soon as I’ve got our visas. (Don’t want to risk antagonizing anyone before that!)

We lived in a suburb of Paris for a year when the kids were 2 & 5. Sadly, they lost their French during the years back in Canada (we don’t live in Quebec!). My husband and I are both functionally bilingual.

Anyone have suggestions for housing in Pau? Advice for things we should know as we get settled in? Ideas for how my 18 year old could get part-time work?

Thanks! I look forward to meeting some of you and corresponding with others!

Tema (rhymes with Emma)

Hi Tema, we live about an hour south of Pau. We arrived in 2009 with a 16 year old boy who didn’t speak any french and survived a year in French college, doing a vocational rather than purely academic course. He now speaks french pretty fluently. He is always on the lookout for other lads who are into BMXing. Happy to meet up when you get here - just get in touch.

Thanks Natalie.

Now our next big challenge is trying to get the visas sorted out!

Agree with Stephen regarding the need for a car.

We moved near to Pau in July las year and the area is lovely, particularly being as your kids are a little older.

We found seloger the best website for looking for houses.