My son was hurt by his teacher

Hello everyone, and many thanks for all the useful info I've read over the months since I joined. I've never been brave enough to post but today I really need some advice/perspective on a school problem.

My son, 6yrs old in CP, was removed from the classroom last week by his teacher. He was pulled by the wrist from his desk to the corridor, knocking over a couple of chairs on the way. Our doctor confirmed that he had been pulled too forcibly and had a sprained wrist. He was also punished indefinitely or as his maitre said "jusqu'a la nouvelle ordre". Indeed he had committed the great crime of chewing his pen in class and had not stopped after being told.

As an ex-UK teacher, I have no issue with discipline nor proportionate punishment.

After a meeting with the maire of the village, he offered to come as mediator to have a meeting at the school. So, at the meeting there were 7 of them against my husband and I. Rather than focusing on the issues around our son, the directrice became very personal, called me aggressive, lied about communications we haven't responded to etc. Kinda difficult to understand as I am at the gate 4 times a day - quite easy to talk to me if she had wished.

We have not complained when our son was told by his teacher he wasn't welcome in the school and should go back to where he came from, nor did we say anything when he was traumatised by having his head shoved under water whilst doing swimming at school. In fact all 3 of the British kids at school have had similar treatment.

In short, we had thought that a small village school, on the coast near Dax, would be open and welcoming.....au contraire we are ostracized for being foreigners (Scottish)....it is also very difficult for French people from other departments. All the friends we have made here are non-Landais and we are constantly told how difficult the locals are...mostly true unfortunately.