My worst ever Christmas

Hello all, I am an active reader of this site but I hardly ever post. However, I really need some advice.

Firstly, I hope you have all had a wonderful Christmas. I've had the worst I've ever had...

Just before Christmas my partner of 14 years told me that she is leaving me together with our 3 year old son. Badtimes for sure. She is french and I am british. She has told me that she is looking for a flat, local to where we currently live so that would mean I have access to my son.

Anyway, I need some advice regarding my living arrangements. We are currently renting a house and are both named on the lease. If I moved out of the house I would find it very difficult to rent anywhere else (as has been discussed elsewhere on this site) so I need to stay put. I am a very busy english teacher and earn decent money but I do not have a CDI. We we were offered this house through a friend of her father, no letting agents are involved.

I can afford the rent / bills myself, and there is another 2 years left on the lease. My question is do I have any right to stay in this house? I dont want to come back to the UK for a number of reasons, primarily my son.

Any advice would be really appreciated.

I hope that this not presumptuous http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PO17DIeI7Ec I have found that it gives me enormous support but can be enjoyed just as a piece of music

Thank you Shirley. I've learnt that time does help (although the pain never completely goes) and that however bad it gets, there really is always someone out there worse off than you, which switches off the self-pity button (but only when you're ready to do that as it's an important part of the grieving process in any 'loss' situation, ie death, divorce, separation). My same wishes for 2014 go out to you too Shirley. xx

Hi Stuart