New Samsung Phones, 4G Coverage and Reglo Contracts

Please bear with me - as I am a complete novice with all of this, so apologies if I’ve not understood.

We have finally bitten the bullet and just bought samsung galaxy phones.

We live in an area where we have very poor 3G coverage and have to wander round the garden trying to find a signal BUT looking at a 4G coverage map it looks as if we do have coverage for Orange 4G.

So we blithely went into Leclerc just now to have our Reglo SIM cards transferred to our new phones assuming that they would pick up the 4G signal. But still no joy.

On further investigation, it looks as if Reglo uses the SFR network and they have no 4G coverage here.

The staff in Leclerc implied that we would have to increase our current basic 3.50 euros a month contract up to 9.95, but if SFR has no 4G coverage here, presumably that wouldn’t make any difference.

Do we need to look for a SIM provider who uses the Orange network in order to be able to get our phones to work?
Do we have to use Orange itself, or is there any other provider who is cheaper but uses Orange?
Will we have to have new phone numbers? Or can we transfer the numbers we got from Reglo onto a new contract?

Sorry if all of this seems terribly obvious, but we really don’t know what we are doing when it comes to mobile phone technology. Thanks for any help.

OH has a Samsung Galaxy…
Go into Settings > Connections > Mobile networks > and set Data Roaming to On and Network mode to 4G/3G/2G (auto connect) and VoLTE calls SIM n to On and see if that makes a difference.

@graham Thanks Graham, I knew I could rely on you. :grin: All fine, except I can’t turn VoLTE calls SIM on. It stays greyed out.

Probably to do with your abonnement… (or lack of it :laughing:)

1 Like