Nothing to report? Then don't

Some of us oldies will remember the days when Bruno Masure presided over the TV news. A first-class journalist and news anchor; which is why this comment rings so true.

If you don't have anything to say, then shut up, a lesson that TF1, FR2 et al would do well to learn. The media feeding frenzy surrounding Charlie Hebdo, and the irresponsible reporting that too often accompanied it, made me angry.

The fear of going back to normal programming before the other channel led to hours of meaningless and often misleading "reporting" from journalists on the spot trying desperately to find something new to say. I had a lot of sympathy for them because, as a news agency journalist, I often had to rehash a story to give the next newspaper cycle -- morning or evening newspapers, newspapers in different time zones -- a fresh bite at the story. And I know how difficult it can be.

The temptation to say "Sorry, nothing new to report. Back to you in the studio" must have been great. But no professional would ever do it, more's the pity.

Back in 1968 I was sent to stand somewhere on the route of one of the major protest marches. My job? Count them! Nobody argued with the figure I came up with either! The gap between the official figures and the organisers' figures was always so huge we decided to produce our own figures and I drew the short straw. Still got a photo of me on one of those marches.

Can well believe it Terry. I occasionally do a bit of sports reporting for an english paper and at one of the venues the attendance figures are not very forthcoming so the assembled hacks agree to publish a figure and this figure which then becomes sacrosanct is the figure which will appear in every match report.