Palm Oil should maybe be banned?

I think this video says it all … I have made an effort not to buy any products that use Palm Oil … Are others here on SF going to make choices too ?

2 Likes

I’ve been avoiding it as much as I can for a long time now. Noticed that supermarkets own brands, like super U, are not using it as much as other well known brands.

4 Likes

It should absolutely be banned, I have been boycotting it for some years now and sticking post-its in shops.

6 Likes

not used it or bought it for many years. Even my son when looking at snacks, looks for it on the packet

4 Likes

I have been boycotting palm oil products for several years now. I recall that Super U pledges to remove it altogether from their products by 2020 or a similar date.

4 Likes

When in the M Navy, we brought it back from the F’ East, one small tank of the stuff, apparently paid all the expence of the 3 month voyage, there and back, the rest of the cargo was pure profit, a lot of Money in Palm Oil :thinking: V sad for the Orangutan and others.

1 Like

I try to avoid it as much as possible. I buy very little processed food but I always check labels. I hate what the production of this stuff is doing to wildlife.

3 Likes

We have quite a list of things we try to avoid, including ingredients, source countries and companies. Shopping can be a slow process!

3 Likes

Last things I’ve banned last week were onions from New Zealand !

1 Like

Forgive me, but why buy onions from NZ when you live in the mother of all onion growing countries?

That’s my point, we don’t ! But people need to read more the labels because supermarkets sell them here in Brittany !

2 Likes

No need to read labels in our household on fruit and veg. We usually buy loose from the market or our local veg shop as opposed to supermarkets. Yes, the price may be higher but the quality is always superior and you have a better chance of understanding it’s source. Less wastage too and no plastic to polute the environment.