Patou Puppy

Hi All,

I have just joined this group, as in a couple of months time I am going to become a dog owner.

A friend of a friend rescued a pregnant Patou des Pyrenées last month and she has just given birth to 6 puppies, (2 females and 4 males).

I had been thinking about getting a dog for the last six months and when I was asked if I could take one, the timing just seemed perfect.

What I would like, for any who can spare the time, is advice, tips etc on bringing up puppy, integrating him with the 7 month old and 15 year old cat, dietary advice etc.

I run a hotel and I would like to train him to stay with me in my office as well so that he isn't always shut in the flat (which is admittedly 130 sq ft with an enclosed garden so not the end of the world if I can't).

I have a lot of experience with dogs, particularly large breeds, (my first dog was a Bernese mountain dog, the second an English Mastiff) but I believe that we can always learn things from other dog owners especially with all the amazing different personalities that dogs have and the quirks of different breeds. Also this is the first time that I will have a dog that comes to me as a puppy and not already fully grown!!

Many thanks for your help!

Namaste :)

I'm so excited. Diddy will probably just ignore him and Hannah (the baby) will love the fact that she has a proper playmate. Diddy just tells her off all the time. ;)

You're absolutely right - the sooner he learns the guests aren't a threat to you, the better. He'll be happy just mooching around keeping an eye on everyone. I believe they are quite protective though so watch him if a nearby group suddenly burst out laughing, start banging chairs around or race towards you just to gauge his reaction. He'll learn soon enough which situations worry you and which don't. Absolutely beautiful dogs, so I'm really happy for the two of you (the cats will love him eventually and he'll probably protect them too).

Hi Valerie,