Pension Payment

Morning All

This is my first year of receiving my state pension.

It is due on 27th Dec, will it arrive on that date or do you get paid early for Xmas ?

Andy

As I recall, it’s simply every 4 weeks… regardless… but we do get the £10 Christmas Bonus… yippee… that hit the bank a week or so ago…

1 Like

Thanks Stella

Yes the £10 bonus burnt a hole in my pocket.

Andy

Don’t shout about that huge bonus, you’ll make people jealous! I think it no longer applies to non-resident pensioners who are not protected by the withdrawal agreement.

Article / schedule below:

Was your £10, the compensation for the mendacious way the UK government did a triple flip and back somersault when calculating winter temperatures in France (by including France’s remote islands in hot oceans), in order to deprive you of your £300 winter fuel allowance?

2 Likes

Thanks Nigel

Andy

Hi Karen

I believe that was the work of the great humanitarian Ian Duncan Smith

Andy

4 Likes

Wondered what the £10 was for!
And don’t hold your breath that you might get your P money early…its an automated system, though I can’t recall what happens if the four weekly payment is due on a Sunday! Guess the same principle for 27th Dec will apply.

Have you had a letter telling you what you will get and when, my other half has been led a merry dance regarding her pension. Birth date 1 December submitted claim three months ago, and phoned numerous times, and all we get is you just have to wait.

There’s been a big scandal apparently, I read in financial industry press around September the DWP has not started a lot of pensions on time. It was reported as the DWP being terribly sorry with a statement of having recruited people and expected to get caught up in a couple of months IIRC.