Pensions in france

Having received a pension statement last week from the french system, does anyone realise how little we will get?
I have been working since 2008 here, I have accumulated 19 points and 125 topup, where ever that came from. This adds up to a massive 12.50 a month in 13 years time. I don’t know what I will spend all that on.

Will you be adding to it during the next 13 years ?

That’s strange, I’ve been registered here since 2007 and will get far more than that when I retire, I do pay 6k+ every year in cotisations though so maybe that’s the reason.

French pensions are more complicated animals than UK pensions.
In the UK all OAPs get a flat rate.
In France it depends what you’ve earned, how much you’ve paid in, and probably other things besides.
Like Tim I have been cotis’ing since 2007, I will be able to collect quite soon and I was actually pleasantly surprised at how much I will get.

I guess it’s down to how much you contribute but for each year there’s only 4 points available and think you need to declare around 12 k for that. Not sure about the topup.
If your paying 6 k cotisations a year yr top line is around 25 k, I’ve never been anywhere near that here, and some slack years with a eye problem.

All OAPs don’t get a flat rate in the UK. It still depends on how many years national insurance contributions you’ve made. And with the new one I think you get nothing until you’ve paid in for 10 years and then the amount then increases up to the max after 35 years of contributions.

And private pensions are not guaranteed. Unlike french private pensions which are guaranteed. They generally invested in stock market and so on, so in UK if your pension find doesn’t perform well you won’t get a good pension.