Post from Australia

Hi All
A British friend of our received a parcel this morning from her sister in Australia. It was as hand knitted sweater (knitted by her sister) as a birthday present. It’s value was declared as €25.

The post demanded €100 duty to deliver it, she declined and they said they would return it to the sender.

I cannot believe €100 was really payable is this now policy as Australia cancelled the French submarine contract!

Regards

Nick

I work as a rule of thumb on 33% extra on the item(s) value being payable for non-EU. For handling and VAT and all the little miscellaneous rubbish charges that each participant in the chain likea to salami-slice off the consumer then the VAT on that total.

That’s for items on which normally no duty would be charged - which would increase the 33% by the duty, then by service charges down the chain on the duty, then by more VAT on that…which can get really extreme.

I can’t see how a handknitted sweater of that value, which does seem to be a fair value, got to 100 Euros. Was there a mistake? I,d have denanded a full breakdown with the aim of challenging it

It’s as though with the removal of the concessions on small personal gifts and packages, all the governments of the world and all the still-too-big post office organisations have got together to rip off the consumer because there aren’t many letters or publications being delivered by post any more but these huge government and former-government organiaations are still in place

Oh gosh. I’m think I better tell mum not to send presents this year! It does my head in anyway as she doesn’t spend a lot then spends aud50 in postage!

I agree @KarenLot it is really unfair hitting gifts. Oz still has aud1000 duty free for orders / parcels.

What were the contents actually worth?

I am certain I would have refused it as well, but would be worried about the cost to the original sender when returned. Do you know if it was received and how much was demanded?