Re-entering France after 31 December

Hello all,

I am a French resident, I am employed here on a CDI.

I have applied for my carte de sejour (on the no deal Brexit site last year). The only ‘proof’ that was provided of my application was an auto-reply email I got saying it had been received, and will be processed in due course.

Given the prefectures have until October 2021 to provide us with our residency permits (and mine is notoriously slow) is this email going to be sufficient as proof at the border that I am a French resident under the WA if I want to re-enter France from the UK after 31 December 2020?

As per this article: does the email count as ;

*“a residence document issued under the WA”

or

“a certificate of application for your new residence status issued by your host country” ?

I have not been able to get any clear information from either UK or French officials, who seem to only know what the rules are until the transition period ends, and once we have the permits safely in our hands, but not the interim period.

Many thanks all.

Hi Sarah… and welcome

Last year’s applications are gradually being dealt with…

Which is your Prefecture ???

EDIT:
Having just looked at the email receipt for my application last year…

It is titled:
Attestation d’Enregistrement de Demand de Titre No xx-xxx
etc etc

Take another look at your email… it is probably what is being mentioned as a suitable document …

1 Like

Are you returning before the end of June 2021? As everything seems to say that the kind of proof required before that date is pretty minimal - so the email about your application for a CDS and some evidence that you live here should be enough. I feel that customs officials have probably got better things to do than argue with someone who seems to have the right bits of paper.

2 Likes

Hi,