Refreshing La Maison, Without Spending a Dime

Prop

Before we moved to France, I was a regional editor for Better Homes & Gardens and Traditional Home. My job was finding story locations, styling the shots for the photographer, and often writing the story, and I still work for them part-time.

And once again, those cultural differences pop up! If you’ve even looked at a French home magazine, then you have probably wondered why they didn’t bother to tidy up before they shot the photos. You’ll see books strewn around the floor, stacks of papers left around, maybe a half eaten meal. But yes, they really did have a stylist for that photoshoot---they just prefer the natural, lived-in look. I once did a shoot here at the home of a French celebrity, who had her personal hair stylist and make-up artist on site. And I swear when they finished she emerged for her photo with torn jeans, messy hair, and no make-up, like she just climbed out of bed and was ducking out to the boulangerie. Go figure!

Kitchen

Today I’m going to share my professional styling tips with you. If you want to fluff up your decor a bit without spending a penny, then do what we do on a photoshoot: prop ‘til you drop! Here are some things I’ve learned about styling a house for a magazine, that you can use chez vous. It’s also a great thing to do if you’re selling a house and you want your decor to have broad appeal. I’ve chosen photo examples from French country decor on the bhg.com web site.

Rule number one! Less is more. Edit. Edit again. De-clutter and keep it simple. The most common styling we do is to take stuff OUT of the shot, not add to it! Clean lines have been a strong design trend over the past few years, and a room that’s too fussy looks dated. Try taking all the accessories out of a room, then put back in just what’s necessary.