Spare Land, Central Brittany?

Hi All,
I am new to the forum and finding the conversations very interesting. Nice to meet you all. Hope you are all managing the potential change that Brexit brings.
I am a freelance house sitter, property maintenance etc as well as being a writer and an author. My background is farmm caretaking and garden work in the UK until I was injured, and I have to keep the heavy work part time these days
I am based in Brittany, and I am looking for some spare land that the owner can’t look after.
I know a lot of people buy houses and find that they can’t look after all the ground that goes with it. I am just looking for a patch to garden and grow vegetables and spend time with. Maybe to keep some chickens as well.
I am in the area between Rostrenen and Pontivy.
I would be happy to hear any ideas.

1 Like

Hi Annajayne and welcome to the forum

I hope someone chimes in soon. We have many similar set-ups in my commune, where someone cannot cope with their land and they let another borrow it for a while. However, folk are a bit wary of allowing foreigners (foreign to them)… as even the best of arrangements can go wrong… :wink: :upside_down_face:

1 Like

Thanks. That is helpful to know. I am well referenced and years of experience in caretaking, security and landbased work, which I hope will help, especially if my work will make things look better and possibly provide some produce for the land owner as well. It’s worth an ask :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

I saw a posting from a lady in this area who was wondering about doing a similar thing, sharing her land. It was on another facebook page so I’m trying to find it for you.

Thanks Gill, that is very helpful and kind of you.

She would like a way of making contact, email or FB?
Her name is Maggie incidentally and she lives in your preferred area.

Hi,
I don’t do FB any more, I used to get spammed with games requests and I am a writer, FB had to go or I would never get any writing done.