Student Health & RIB/ IBAN banking! Help!

I am a long term resident in France on a student visa. I am trying to apply for social security so that I can receive healthcare in the country. Apparently, I need a French bank account or IBAN. I tried to look at different options that are affordable but no luck.

Does anyone know an affordable bank for students? I can keep a balance in the account, but I do not have plans to withdraw more than 100€ a month. I also do not have income since I am on a student visa. Please, I am looking for any advice to get healthcare without IBAN/RIB or a bank account that won’t charge a bunch of fees. Thank you!

Won’t they accept Wise? It’s a European IBAN. And easy/free to sign up to.

If not use a nearly free one like

https://ouvrir-un-compte.boursorama-banque.com/landing/welcome/?origine=2456&xtor=SEC-204&gclid=Cj0KCQiAubmPBhCyARIsAJWNpiOSFmxBexJv9lFUqK4QSVlWPFucsM4CJXER5blpUOc4_F4dG8AR-o0aAgGlEALw_wcB

I think you will find that most high street banks offer special low fee accounts for students.
Crédit Agricole used to have a student account with a fee of 2€ per month if I recall correctly, I do not know if it is still the same arrangement.

1 Like

Monabanque are very affordable. Basic current account with Visa card included is only 2€/month. Everything is done online but they are linked to CIC for things like cash & cheque deposits. I can’t fault them.

1 Like

OrangeBank is advertising heavily and I think they have a special deal for students. Got an idea there’s a bonus. The more modern online banks like boursorama and orange also often seem to pay incentives to refer people - so check for incentives to be referred (some pay referrer only some pay referred new account holder as well) before you choose one.

1 Like

I have never heard of this app it looks awesome, tho! If I have a US bank account I’ll it provide me with my own IBAN? That information seems unclear.