Swimming Pools - again

Although we are being a lot more patient this time, we have bought some Anti Algues Concentre. The instructions for curing algae say to put 2.5 litres in for every 100 cubic metres - this seems OK but it also says to add 100 tablets (comprimes?) of Chor Choc. This seems an enormous amount as we normally put in 30. Has anyone tried this and does it have any adverse effect on the pool. We are complete novices and are concerned that the water quality will suffer.

Thanks in advance for help/advice.

Cant say I like the sound of your ‘Hoover’ Mine draws water through the tube and thus to either the filter or to waste (see post above) white powder is probably dead algae and needs to be vacuumed to waste.

I have an above ground Intex pool, not very big, but every year it get this dust-like substance that settles on the bottom. Once you disturb it, it disperses into the water making it cloudy. I presume it’s algae. I vacuum it every day (although its a hose-pipe that you fix onto a pole that blasts the water through a muslin bag that collects the sediment) and filter it for several hours every day also (with the small paper filters provided). I am now on my third lot of Anti-algue concentre (after leaving it a week and a bit to no avail, and taking out the other products that the instructions say should not be in the pool at the same time i.e., 4 in tablets in the skimmer). The ph is perfect. My friend has the same pool with the same tablets, does the same as me and has never had a problem. Any ideas folks. Oh yes, I’ve been changing the filters every 5 days or so and not every 2 weeks as the manufacturer states.