The mouse that roared…

“ On Thursday, Liz Truss, the UK foreign secretary, warned Russia that any invasion of Ukraine would only lead to a disaster on the scale of the Soviet-Afghan war.”

Bad as Johnson is, if Truss replaces him………

“ On Friday UK foreign secretary Liz Truss said the Kremlin had “not learned the lessons of history” and warned of a post-invasion “terrible quagmire and loss of life, as we know from the Soviet-Afghan war and the conflict in Chechnya”.

I guess Liz hasn’t learnt the lessons of WWII.

My understanding is that the Ukrainians understand that they cannot prevent a full scale Russian invasion if that is what Putin decides to do, and so they have prepared to fight an ongoing guerilla campaign post-invasion. They seem to think that if they send enough coffins back to Moscow, then the Russians will eventually withdraw as they did from Afghanistan.

Well, I’m no expert but from my perspective the US is 100% at fault here. The US has driven the idea that Ukraine should be able to join NATO (just as they drove the idea that Turkey should join the EU). Now, Kennedy was a hero because he faced down the USSR in the Cuban missile crises, but NATO missiles in Ukraine are OK :thinking: I wonder how Russian missiles in Mexico would go down?

The situation in Afghanistan was complex but the mujahideen resistance to the Russians was armed and funded by the US. Then the dog (bin Laden) they had nurtured turned on them and voilà 9/11, an own goal.

In recent times the US has fucked up in the Middle East and Afghanistan and then run away.

We don’t need them to fuck up Europe and I don’t want Biden deciding my future, We should be at the table for all the discussions.

3 Likes

What does Germany think? This has always been their backyard.