Top Up Health Insurance - To buy or not to buy?

Hi

I am new to both SFN and to blogging, so forgive me if I go wrong!

I thought I would pass on some thoughts about French Top Up insurance and why I would definitely recommend that you take it up.

We moved to France May 2012 and before coming over we obtained our S1 documents from the UK Government so that we could obtain state based health care as though we were french nationals. We received our temporary social security numbers after several problems and found that we were being reimbursed for the main part of the health care, despite having not received our Carte Vitales. A visit to the local office got us equipped with the Attestations of our rights on paper.

As soon as we received them I researched top up insurance and found a very helpful lady who spoke English and could sort us out. They were not worried that we did not have our Carte Vitales as long as we had the Attestation.

So, we took out the insurance on 8th November (yes it took that long and Hubby still has not got his actual card!). We opted to go for full cover on hospitalisation and day to day medicines etc. This was mainly due to us both being bikers (if we had an accident it was likely to end up in hospital!) and we were both on medication, the monthly bill for us being 100 euros, so top up insurance of £65 a month was a saving.

Less than 2 months after taking out the insurance Hubby was rushed to hospital with suspected meningitis after having had a constant headache for 3 days. What was supposed to be a one night stay in hospital for a MRI scan turned into a 6 week stay in the Neurology ward at Tours Bretonneau hospital. As they did not know what was wrong they undertook the following:

• 3 MRI scans

• 2 CT scans

• Radioactive CT Scan

• 70 - 80 blood samples

• Laparoscopy

• Lumber punch / Spinal Tap

• Saliva gland sample

• 21 Xrays

• Blood Patch

• Blood platelette transfusion

• Eye Test

• Urine tests