We've made THE decision - we're moving to France

Hello all
We’ve made our decision to move to France. To do this we will need to sell our UK home and our thoughts will be to rent a property in France to allow us time to find the ‘right one’.

It’ll be my husband and I and two doggies and we are looking to buy in the Vendee area (somewhere between Nantes and La Rochelle). We’d like to buy somewhere rural or on the edge of a village with scope to maybe have a very small B&B but we are generally moving to France to retire.

Our aim is to get our property here in the UK ready for sale over the next few months and then put it on the market in early Spring 2018 with the hope of selling it and completing by this time next year (you know how long it takes for conveyancing in UK …) - I am an estate agent so realise it could take longer than this to sell our house but am being optimistic that it’ll sell quickly.

We will also sell as much of our household stuff as possible in the UK, bringing only as little as possible with us.

I’d love to hear from you guys especially with tips for the following topics:
a. Is our idea to sell up in the UK and rent in France a good one? If so, can you advise what do we need to do to find a place to rent, preferably in the countryside
b. Health - we both have pre-existing medical conditions which need medication. What do we need to do to register and would we need to take out medical insurance or would registering in the French health system automatically cover us for pre-existing conditions?

There are a million other subjects we need to ask about and I am so pleased to have found this site (recommended by a friend who has already moved to France).

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone.
Carol

Well…why not!
We arrived almost ten years ago in 33 and we are almost Dordogne…almost.
We tried to move on…leave our beautiful house and income and move on…had a buyer