What can't you grow?

I have just been thinking about the garden, again, and plants in general. My experience of growing Honeysuckle is not good, even when I have bought a house with a garden where it is already established I manage to upset it so that it is never glorious! I have now accepted that is a plant that I just cannot grow.

My parents have a friend who said the same about Forget-me-nots (Myosotis) but a very strange thing happened to her. She tried for years to grow this lovely little flower in her garden with no success. Sadly her husband later died of cancer and the following year she had Forget-me-nots all over her garden…

It is a lovely story and has stuck with me.

Have you had or know of similar experiences? What can’t you grow?

I think it would be absolutely delicious with creme fraiche! Thank you, Jacqueline. I will give it a try.

I am not very good at exact recipes, but this is generally what I do!
Sauté an onion in some olive oil with a teaspoon of cumin seeds. When softened add diced courgettes (as many as need using up!), salt and pepper and just cover with stock. I always use a chicken stock made from boiling the carcass with a carrot and an onion and straining off afterwards. Cook until courgette is tender (not over-boiled) then blend. The combination of the chicken stock and courgette makes a really creamy soup. I don’t use a potato as I don’t find it needs any extra thickening, but you could add one if wanted. For special occasions you could also add creme fraiche or something like that. It freezes really well, so I get to eat my courgettes almost all year around!

Jacqueline, what I would really love is your recipe for courgette soup :slight_smile: