What has teaching become?

When, in 1999, I chose education, this word had still a meaning... I tried hard during years to raise a generation of young people, to give them the ways to understand this world, to cultivate them. Certainly, I am not fooled, few of them became linguists, researchers in English, even; simply Anglicists... But, like it or not, I tried to bring them a little of culture, knowledge... All went out of my classes knowing who Shakespeare, Butler, Turner, Hemingway were. What the Apartheid was, the situation in India, the problems met by society whether it be is English-speaking or not... I taught them linguistics, history, literature... I believed in what I was doing... I, as a mere English teacher I gave everything, all the time... Then, there was an idea that ALL the children of France could receive a good education, I believed in it wholeheartedly.... I wanted to raise them higher than me, make them better than me, to bring them a political, cultural consciousness, tell them, that to be a responsible citizen it was necessary to develop its critical mind, that, to be free, it was necessary to be able to choose... Teaching appeared to me then as the SACRED WAY to reach this goal... Since then, I do not evaluate knowledge anymore, I estimate skills... Skills based not on culture but on the capacity to realize a task... It appears maybe, seen from the outside as having not much importance, as being more centred on the reality of the world of today.... Some people tell me that knowing how to write a letter in support of application will be more useful that knowing about the problems between the Catholics and the Protestants in Scotland today, that all this is not important in the working world.... If this has become my job today, training potential good employees, to whom would be lacking, regrettably, the knowledge, the consciousness, the critical mind... Then, I am of no use... Today in 2013, the inspectors support me that grammar is secondary,